07
Apr
10

Review from Whisky Notes BE

 Glenesk 1983 (Duncan Taylor cask 4931)

06 Apr 2010 | Glenesk

I think this is the first Glenesk I’ve ever tried, they’re quite rare (I’ve tried a Hillside 1970 / 1996 Rare Malts though, which was distilled at the same distillery). Glenesk was closed in 1985 and dismantled in 1996, but it’s still operational as a maltings plant.

Glenesk 1983 DT #4931 Glenesk 25 yo 1983 (55,7%, Duncan Taylor 2009, sherry cask #4931, 294 btl.)

Nose: very rubbery and huge notes of Maggi (herbal extract for making soup). Chicken stock. Dried peas. Muesli. Hay. Ferns? Very organic. A bit of sulphur as well. Water brings out hints of wet cardboard and other moist things. Mouth: pungent and very herbal. Lots of pine resin. Big pepper. Bitter orange peel. Espresso. Dark tea. Hints of salty butter. A few drops of water add chocolaty sherry notes, but not enough to really sparkle through. Finish: spicy, mashy and grassy.

I don’t think I’ve ever come across something like this. I’m not sure what to think of it. It’s quite harsh and certainly not my definition of an enjoyable dram. I hope one day I’ll find a Glenesk that I really like… Around € 110.

Score: 73/100

1 Response to “Review from Whisky Notes BE”


  1. 1 Steffen Bräuner
    07/04/2010 at 18:52

    I think its pretty cool not just to boast on your blog, but also to post reviews like this

    Makes your website more complex and interesting

    /macdeffe


Leave a Reply

Stay in touch

Visit us on Facebook and Twitter!

Blog Categories

Duncan Taylor Tweets

Recent Photos

Trinidad 1991

Panama 1995

Martinique 2002

Jamaica 2000

More Photos

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

